The Happiest Place on Earth

This past weekend was filled with an abundance of happiness because…I went to Disneyland!! The Disneyland reputation of the “happiest place on earth” will always be a fact when it comes to my opinion.  There’s something about the environment of music, characters, and a sense of magic that has never failed to leave me happy.  Disneyland is not just an amusement park to me, but a place I can go to escape reality and feel like a kid living in a fantasyland.

My friend Devan and I walked to Disneyland from the Disneyland Hotel, where we were staying for the weekend, and entered the park around 10:30.  I’d been waiting for this moment for weeks and I can’t remember a time I was more excited.  As we walked down main street in Disneyland, which is right as you walk in the front entrance, I was absolutely mesmerized by everything.  Each time I go to Disneyland everything about it is just as spectacular, or even more so, as the the time before.  I seem to grow more fond of it each time.  

As the day went on my happiness never left me.  One thing that was special about this particular Disneyland experience was that I got to witness my baby sister, Emmy, who is two and a half years old, see Disneyland for the first time.  Her big, bright blue eyes were filled with astonishment at the sight of everything around her.  This magic and wonder was real to her and she felt like a princess in a castle.  Then she met Mickey Mouse. I had never seen a child’s face light up as much as hers did in that moment.  The excitement was shown through a shy hand placed over her mouth, she couldn’t believe it. Watching my sister at disneyland was one of the best parts of this weekend because I got to witness someone enjoy this place of magic and joy just as much as I did, maybe even more, which, trust me, is saying a lot.

Throughout this entire day I was happy.  There was never a dull moment.  I was laughing, singing songs, enjoying the thrill of the rides, and enjoying the magical place I was in.  Disneyland will forever be my happy place, a place I can truly be my happiest self.  I will never know the full reason behind why this place has this unique affect on so many people…except…well, maybe it’s the touch of pixie dust 😉

Have any of you been to Disneyland? Please tell me about your experiences there in the comments!

xoxo Josie

Leave a Reply

