My Game

This week I want to share a huge part of my life with all of you that has continued to bring me joy and happiness since I was 3 years old.

Soccer.  This sport has not only challenged me over the years but also given me something to focus on and strive towards.  I started playing soccer when I was about three years old, I don’t remember much from my first year, obviously, but what I do remember is the joy that the game brought me.  

When I was about seven years old I woke up on a Saturday morning with a wide smile on my face. I’d been waiting for this day for longer than I could remember.  The motivation and excitement rushed through me.  I couldn’t believe it was already game day!  I jumped out of bed and rushed over to my dresser where I had laid my uniform out perfectly the night before to make sure the morning went without flaw.  I put it on, laced up up my new black and white cleats, and rushed out the door.  When I arrived at the game I was ready to go…

and then before I could even blink the other team scored…I was FURIOUS, in my head I was screaming, “How could this happen!? This is all my fault!”  I couldn’t believe my eyes, however I knew that I needed to focus this anger back into the game, I immediately took control and told everyone that we could do this, we could still win the game if we didn’t look so defeated! Everyone stepped up after this and about 10 minutes later we scored! As it got down to the last 5 minutes of the game we were still dominating until all of the sudden a girl on the other team had a breakaway, I knew something had to be done.  I sprinted down the field as fast as I could, only one thing was on my mind, I had to make sure she didn’t score, it was all up to me.  And BOOM I kicked the ball right out from under her feet only a few feet from the goal, I had an abundance confidence and happiness in that moment, everyone was cheering.   I knew that in that moment if soccer could bring me this much joy that I would continue to play the game forever.

I truly don’t know where I’d be today without soccer, feeling a little lost I would assume.  Soccer has given me challenging opportunities, amazing friends, and something to focus on for the past 13 years of my life.  I couldn’t be more thankful to have the ability to play such an amazing sport that brings me an indescribable amount of happiness.

What sports do you guys play? How long have you been playing? I want to hear about it! Leave a comment below!
xoxo Josie

 

Leave a Reply

