A House for Them, Happiness for Me

I built a house in 3 days.  An experience I wouldn’t trade anything for.

img_1443

We got to the work site on early Thursday morning.  I was nervous but even more excited.  As we walked up to the property we would be working on, we were greeted by the woman we were building the house for.  The smile on her face instantly put a smile on mine.  From that moment on I was given the motivation and strength to finish building a house in 3 days for this woman and her family.

img_1461

As the sun rose more and more children started to appear on the first day, around the work site and in the streets.  They were all so intrigued by each and every one of us and what we were constructing.  They ran down the street, playing soccer or simply chasing one another like there wasn’t a care in the world.  They were truly happy and this made me happy.  I tried to spend as much time with them as I could and found that they needed close to nothing to bring a smile on their faces.  At these moments was when I realized the only thing in that moment that brought me true happiness and put a wide smile across my face was helping them.  And to help the woman and build her a house, because it would not only benefit her, it would also benefit the people in her neighborhood and community, including all of these joyful children.

img_1466

I can truthfully say that those 3 days of building are some of the hardest days I’ve worked in my life, especially for other people.  However in the moment, although it was tiring, it wasn’t difficult to work in high winds and cold weather for hours on end, knowing that I was helping the lives of others and being able to give them what they needed and what they deserved.

img_1471

The best moment of this whole experience was when we handed the key for the house over to the new owner.  A feeling of accomplishment, fulfillment, and pure joy rushed through me.  I couldn’t believe what I had done in the matter of 3 days with the help and love from so many people as well.  I couldn’t be happier in knowing I was apart of not only giving a family in need a house, but also giving them a home.   

Has helping others ever made you truly happy? Please share with me in the comments below!

xoxo Josie

Leave a Reply

